Return to Headlines

National Honor Society Welcomes Ten New Members

On the evening of Tuesday, May 9, 2023, Hartford Central School District’s National Honor Society (NHS) chapter recently inducted ten new members. 


The ceremony began with current member Mason Forbes leading guests in the Pledge of Allegiance and then provided welcoming remarks. In respective order, chapter members Sophia Anderson, Kaylin Holcomb, Tarina Hunt and Hongxu Qian introduced and emphasized the importance of each of the four principles: Scholarship, Service, Leadership and Character.


The ten new members were then introduced. They are: Mia Amato, Seth Burch, Nathan Fiske, Shelby Kelly, Soleia Lamoureux, Raeghan Liebig, Logan Miller, Isabelle Reynolds, Aidan Shaw, and Cassandra Wade.


A candle lighting followed the tapping of the new members, and then Jayden Benoit led the new members in stating their pledge to the Principles of the National Honor Society.


The NHS Committee is comprised of Mr. Andrew Capone, Mrs. Mercedes Barnard, Mrs. Wendy Harrington, Mr. Caleb Sutliff, and Mrs. Bonnie Winchester. Mrs. Megan Capone is the chapter’s advisor.

The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. NHS serves to recognize those students who demonstrate excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921.