Return to Headlines

National Honor Society Welcomes Eleven New Members

Hartford Central School District’s National Honor Society (NHS) chapter recently inducted eleven new members. 


The ceremony began with current member Timothy Livingston leading guests in the Pledge of Allegiance and then provided welcoming remarks. In respective order, chapter members Hannah Monroe, Isabella French, Dylan Mandigo, and Samantha Cooper introduced and emphasized the importance of each of the four principles: Scholarship, Leadership, Character and Service.


The eleven new members were then introduced. They are: Sophia Anderson, Jayden Benoit, Samantha Cooper, Mason Forbes, Isabela French, Kaylin Holcomb, Tarina Hunt,  Hannah Mitchell, Hongxu Qian, Drake Stewart, and Carson Strainer. 


A candle lighting followed the tapping of the new members, and then all members stated their pledge to the Principles of the National Honor Society. 


The NHS Committee is comprised of Mr. Andrew Capone, Mrs. Mercedes Barnard, Mrs. Wendy Harrington, and Mrs. Bonnie Winchester. Mrs. Megan Capone is the chapter’s advisor. 


The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. NHS serves to recognize those students who demonstrate excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921.